Select Page

Australian Scouting

2020 Annual Report to the Nation

On 14th November 2020, Scouts Australia held its first ever virtual Annual General Meeting. During the meeting, National Councillors adopted the 2020 Annual Report to the Nation.

In presenting the Report, Chief Commissioner of Australia, Phil Harrison, noted “For Scouts Australia, 2019-20 has a been a year like no other. No one could have foreseen the extent of the impact of extreme weather and the pandemic on the Scouting program. However, Scouts are resilient, Scouts work together to solve problems and create new ways of doing things. As Scouts we can be proud of what we have achieved and can be confident in our ability to face the challenges the future brings.”


2020 Annual Report Cover Pager2020

David Jones AM FCA Bronze Wolf Presentation

The Bronze Wolf Award is bestowed by the World Scout Committee (WSC) to acknowledge “outstanding service by an individual to the World Scout Movement”. It is the highest honour that can be given a volunteer Scout leader in the world and it is the only award given by the WSC. Since the award’s creation in 1935, fewer than 400 of the several millions of Scouts throughout the world have received the award.

Mr David Wynne Jones AM FCA, Chair of the Lord Baden-Powell Society, is the 11th Australian to be awarded World Scouting’s Bronze Wolf since it was first awarded in 1935. David’s efforts are extensive and his contribution to Australian, Asia-Pacific and World Scouting are immense.

Kirsty Brown OAM APR Award for Distinguished Service Presentation

This award is presented for distinguished and outstanding leadership and exceptional service to the Scout Movement on an international basis for a period of at least 10 years. The award recognises outstanding men and women whose work and services have contributed effectively to the progress of Scouting not only in his/her country but to several other countries as well.

This year, Kirsty Brown OAM, APR Scout Committee Consultant, was the recipient.